Spicy Skillet Beef & Pasta

Ask Rich and the girls, and they will know exactly what I mean when they ask, “What’s for dinner?” and I say, “That Ground Beef Dish.”  It has been a staple on our weekly menu for at least 25 years.  I think everyone has a family recipe that has its own secret code name. Anyway, it’s an easy skillet dinner that evolved one day while I was searching through my cabinets for ingredients that would pair nicely with ground beef.  It has taken on slight changes over the years for one reason or another.  The big change thus far has been substituting ground turkey for ground beef.  I have also upped the spice factor!

Spicy Skillet Beef & Pasta

Makes 4 servings

1 pound ground beef or turkey
1 small onion, chopped
1/2 jalapeno pepper, chopped (optional)
1 clove garlic, minced
1  can (14 1/2 ounces) stewed tomatoes
1 can (8 ounces) corn
1/3 cup barbecue sauce
3/4 cup water
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon chili powder (optional)
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper (optional)
1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/2 cup elbow pasta
– In large nonstick skillet, brown ground beef, onion, jalapeno pepper and garlic.
– Stir in stewed tomatoes, corn with its liquid, barbecue sauce, water, salt, chili powder, red  and black peppers; heat to boiling.
–  Add pasta and reduce heat. Cover and simmer until pasta is tender, about 8 to 10 minutes.

Tips
– As mentioned, you can substitute ground turkey for ground beef.  You may have to brown the ground turkey in a little vegetable oil.
– If you do not want the bold flavors, eliminate the chili powder and the crushed red pepper.  Sometimes I opt for the plain and simple.
– Try different pasta.  I’ve tried wheels, rotelle, fusilli, cavatappi (curly elbows).
– I love using Kraft Original Barbecue Sauce, but you can use your favorite.

Cathy

7 Comments

Filed under Beef, Turkey

7 responses to “Spicy Skillet Beef & Pasta

  1. Ann

    I love your photo. Very striking.

    Ann

  2. Melanie P

    not the ground beef dish!! haha I like how you’ve added some more spice over the years. 🙂

    ❤ you

  3. Chris

    So I made this last night for my family and my brother’s family. I forgot to buy the corn so we had it without. It was great and I will be making it again, for sure. Can’t wait to see you on Friday.

    • Chris,
      Glad you liked it! I wanted to put your family’s secret code meal in my blog but I could not think of it!!! I remember Lucy telling me. It was on the tip of my tongue! Looking forward to seeing you also. Thali is actually an Indian restaurant that took over Taipan’s space. Let me know.

  4. Ted

    Wow, that sounds fantastic. Being a non-cooking type of person, I love the simplicity of the recipe. The photo is awesome and makes my mouth water!
    Yum!

  5. Melanie

    Yum, Cath – this sounds great. I’ll have to try it.
    I’m loving your blog!

Leave a comment