Blueberry Maple Syrup

Here it is!!!  I am slowly getting my kitchen back, so I was able to develop the syrup recipe.  We photographed it with buttermilk pancakes, but you can use it on a number of things.  I just poured the warm syrup over vanilla bean ice cream!!  Creamy, syrupy, blueberry-ee — so good!!  Serve it over pound cake, fresh fruit, waffles.  You can even use it as a glaze for pork!

Tips:

– Recipe can easily be doubled.

– I think the syrup is best served warm.  Just heat in microwave about 30 seconds on High.

– Ground cinnamon can be optional.  I love it so I put it in everything!  I found out it also has some health benefits —   it can help with blood sugar, clotting issues, soothing an upset stomach, and reducing arthritis pain. Who knew??

– If you don’t have pure maple syrup you can certainly use the imitation maple syrups, which are referred to as  pancake syrup

Here’s the recipe!

Makes about 1 cup syrup

1 container (6 ounces) blueberries , rinsed and drained
3 tablespoons sugar
3 tablespoons pure maple syrup
2 tablespoons water
1/2 teaspoon grated lemon peel
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon (optional)

– In small saucepan, place 1/2 cup of the blueberries, and remaining ingredients. Heat over low heat until sugar dissolves, pressing blueberries against side of pan with spoon to crush slightly,  about 4 minutes.

– Pour mixture into a fine strainer which is set over a bowl.  Using back of spoon, press berries to release all the liquid.  Discard the solids.  To the syrup, add remaining blueberries.

– Store covered in refrigerator until ready to use.

C


14 Comments

Filed under Berries, Breakfast

14 responses to “Blueberry Maple Syrup

  1. How is this to store? Does it retain the same consistency, and does it stay for a week? I would assume the best receptacle is glass, but what did you use?

    • Chris,
      It stores beautifully. I kept it in the refrigerator in a glass jar for several weeks. It retained its consistency. I like it warm over pancakes, waffles or ice cream so I heated it in the microwave for a few seconds before pouring.
      Cathy

  2. Lovely photo and great presentation. I like how it tells a story. This syrup looks beautiful and sounds delicious.

  3. These are, hands down, the most delicious looking pancakes I have ever seen!

  4. Chris

    I love the food photography on your site. The images are really stunning.

  5. Roseann

    This recipe sounds delicious to someone like me who loves sweets and blueberries. The picture of the pancakes is making my mouth water and I just finished eating. Best wishes on your new blog and keep the recipes and pictures coming.

  6. Thanks Mom. Try it for Pete. You can substitute a sweetener for the sugar if he can’t have it! Love you

  7. marilyn

    hi i am going to make this syrup today and have it over pound cake it sounds so good and the benefit of it is great for pete. thanks again and love this site can’t wait to read it in the mornings keep up the good work mel is on the right track writing a cookbook would be great and i think a success. love mom

  8. Melanie

    I’m back again! I’m curious – I love your website
    and all the food looks so delicious. Will you be writing a cookbook?????? :o)

  9. Melanie

    This looks so good, I am going to have to make it this week. I’m drooling. You can use the Vita-Mix to make a very smooth, uncooked blueberry syrup to add to your blueberry syrup dreams! We’ll try that next time we get together and serve over ice cream as a side to the birthday cake!

Leave a Reply

