No-Knead to Fuss !

Perhaps nothing smells more inviting than the aroma of fresh bread baking in the oven. So when my wife’s long-time friend Virginia turned me on to a simple no-knead bread recipe recently, I just had to try it.

The original recipe is from Jim Lahey, of Sullivan Street Bakery in New York City. All it takes is flour, yeast, salt and water… what could be easier?  The recipe calls for baking the bread in a Dutch Oven, but don’t waste your money on expensive pots… I picked up a 6 qt. enameled cast iron Dutch Oven at Costco for only $39.

Well, we’ve gone through about a dozen loaves so far, and I’m scoring big points with family & friends . The kids love it toasted with butter, and I’m getting rave reviews on the exquisite crunchiness of the crust.

So why not start baking your own bread at home? You’ll be so impressed with the results, you may never buy another expensive artisanal loaf again. You can find the no-knead bread recipe, and view the New York Times video with Mark Bittman by clicking on the provided links.

-Joe

4 Comments

Filed under Breads

4 responses to “No-Knead to Fuss !

  1. I am working my way through a bread making cookbook and am amazed how few ingredients go into delicious bread. I like your photograph at the top. Looks like a beautiful loaf!

  2. Ro

    I can smell the bread baking now… thanks!

  3. It looks awesome, and so easy! Thanks for the link!!

Leave a Reply

