Christmas Cupcakes Made Easy!

These Red Velvet Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting & Holiday Sprinkles are made from Duncan Hines Red Velvet Cake Mix and Vanilla Cream Cheese Frosting. I added 3 tablespoons Hershey’s unsweetened cocoa powder to the cake batter for added chocolate flavor. The cupcakes taste great, but also look great thanks to the beautiful cupcake liners.

As a props stylist, I am sometimes stopped dead in my tracks when I discover a new product that I could only have dreamed of in years past. While other people may be excited by, say, advances in technology or medical science, I get excited when I see products perfect for photo shoot propping, and I am always on the lookout. Colorful straws that bend, square plates, tiny glass Christmas balls in unusual colors…well, you get the idea.

Cupcakes have always been hard to shoot because the see-thru thin paper liners were so unattractive that they ruined the shot. The foil liners were a bit better, but not by much. (Seriously, I have been known to handpaint cupcake liners because what we needed for a shoot simply did not exist.) For many years, cupcakes were pretty, cupcake liners were not. It was common knowledge. At least in my world.

Therefore, I was recently blown away when I came across Reynolds’ line of decorative foil cupcake liners that change seasonally. The red and green ribbon swirl pattern practically jumped off the shelf as I browsed the baking aisle of my grocery store. The liners are paper on the outside and foil on the inside. They hold their color and their shape; in fact, you do not even need a cupcake tin to use them. Pretty & practical…now that’s genius.

Happy cupcaking!

Heather

3 Comments

Filed under Chocolate, Cupcakes, Dessert, Entertaining, Holidays

3 responses to “Christmas Cupcakes Made Easy!

  1. I just found your blog via Food Gawk and i must say your pictures look amazing! Any tips to share? as you can see, my pictures are that nice.

    Keep up the great work!

    • Thanks Karen, here’s a few photo tips that may help…
      1) try to use a broad daylight source, such as a large window. (not direct sunlight)
      2) position your food so the light comes from the side or from behind.
      3) use a white or silver card to reflect light from the window into the shadow side of the food.
      4) use a shallow depth-of-field… open the aperture of your lens to its widest f-stop, and be very selective with your focus.
      If you have any other questions, just email me at joe@joelongo.com

  2. omg!!! these look so gorgeous!! and i love the red velvet idea. i made a red velvet cakes last month,and it was so delicious , we don’t know that here in Holland..great job!!!

Leave a Reply

